“March is Fire Prevention Month”

As an advocate and new member of Nestle’s I Choose Wellness campaign every Saturday mornings I never neglect to exercise, I could be dancing with every one else at the QC Circle enjoying a free dance instructor designated near the big fountain of the park with the rendition of 80’s to 90’s aerobics music like “Get Physical”, “Dancing Queen” and today’s Korean hits like “Nobody” by Wonder Girls, “Fire” of 2NE1 etc.

When I don’t feel like dancing I will do 4 to 10 rounds of jogging and running together with my brother or other runners in the park. During Sundays if given a chance, every dawn I usually start running from my apartment (almost near Sandigan Bayan Bldg.) to UP Diliman Campus to have a feel of a 10 kilometer run and this will also serve as a preparation for my future runs and to check how I am progressing as well.

                  Starting to run.  See the Sandigan Bayan Building?

Last Saturday, March 5, 2011 before the much awaited RunRio’s Unilab RUNnited 1 2011, I was  again at the QC Circle preparing for my final body conditioning, stretching, practicing my timing, speed and pacing. A group of firemen catches my attention. They are in uniforms as if there is a fire drill at the park. I took a closer look and walked closer and closer.

To my surprise there is not just one group of firemen on the other side of the park but more groups from different Fire Station in Quezon City. They are having fire brigade competitions entitled “Six in One Fire Brigade Competitions” organized by Safety Organizations of the Philippines, Inc (Fire Safety Division and Bureau of Fire Protection).

I took pictures of them because they look nice in their uniforms and of different colors. I also wanted to join them as saving lives is cool as for me that’s what I think haha. Really I dreamed of becoming one, I want to help people in times when disasters struck.

Fire Truck

Each Fire Brigade unit are busy preparing for the competition. Some units are happily doing a group stretching, others listen to instructions from their Team Leads (you bet I don’t know the exact term for this) and some seems to have a little brainstorming. Others are busy taking pictures on the side, some is tired smiling for the camera.

I can’t help but noticed one thing, there’s this one unit that doing nothing at all just sitting there and waiting for the time pass by or maybe bored already, I am not really sure because I didn’t even dare to ask them. These unit are in gray uniform, I don’t know but in my own opinion do they do this in times of emergency or fire? I do hope that what I am thinking is not true because they are so-called volunteers for crying out loud.

Well, I have a strong feeling that they are fit for that job and they are the right person for this work. You can see the pictures that I captured using my Sony Ericsson C510 mobile phone on the slide show below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Too bad I had no time to watch the competition as I had to prepare for the Unilab’s RUNited 1. The first leg of RunRio hosted races for this 2011. Taken into consideration also is that the program started late at that time and I know there will be lots of talks, topics , other stuff related to fire safety and preparedness to be discussed by their speakers before the competition begins.

Surely, I missed all the important tips and tricks on disaster/fire preparedness because I still do believe in the Filipino saying of the elders’ “Mabuti ng manakawan, huwag lang masunugan” (It’s better to get robbed than to be victimized by fire). Wait there’s more, “Ito ang matindi sa lahat , Mabuti pang manakawan ng 10 beses kaysa masunugan. Pero mas mabuti pang masunugan ng todo todo kaysa sa nakawan ng halik ni Diego”. (It’s better to get robbed 10 times  than to be victimized by fire but it is indeed better to be victimized fully by fire than Diego steal a kiss from you haha).

For those who don’t know Diego, he is one of the extended cast of famous, longest-running gag show in the Philippines’ Bubble Gang. Bubble Gang is a  program known for their parodies of TV commercials, politicians and current events. Diego is a she-male known for his very large lips. Log in to your Facebook account and click here to see him.

So, this March is fire prevention month and I expect everyone to be safe and be careful in playing with fire haha.

In line with this, I searched web sites related to fire safety, preparedness, what to do in case of fire and what numbers to call. While I am searching for related web sites for this blog I just remembered one incident when I was 4 years old. I was alone at home, I found a box of match labeled “Guitara” and out of curiosity I lit one of them and as a usual reaction I was so happy.

As a kid you don’t know the consequences of playing with fire. So I went out of our house and head to our farm where you can see a mini forests way back 1980’s there are many trees at that time. I gathered dried branches of trees, thin cans and rocks serves as cook sets. As an experiment I cooked some grasses mixed with soil or mud and water of course.

The cooking was fun until I heard my dad calling me, they just got home, I left what I am cooking and rushed to go home after an hour a huge fire was all over the place like wild-fire. Luckily, no houses was built near the incident and not all trees were not burned nevertheless the majority of the grassland was smoked. near that fire as well. It’s all because of the immediate response and adrenaline rush of my father and the neighborhood that was around that day to put off the fire.

What they did as I still remember was they dug mini canals quick using either a shovel or a jungle bolo to prevent the fire from scattering and not to spread anymore. They also used sands instead of water to put out the fire because the water source was very far from the area. After all that I confessed that I am the one who made that fire. I was scolded by my father and was grounded in using a match or lighter and I learned my lessons.

From that day on, I dreamed to be a fire fighter. Below are the following web sites that will serve as a source of education materials designed to reduce fire deaths, injuries, and property loss.

http://www.nfpa.org – Is an international nonprofit National Fire Prevention Association, established in 1896, this was established to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life by providing and advocating consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education.

The world’s leading advocate of fire prevention and an authoritative source on public safety, NFPA develops, publishes, and disseminates more than 300 consensus codes and standards intended to minimize the possibility and effects of fire and other risks.

http://www.bfpresponse.gov.ph – Our very own government agency. There Mission:  To prevent and suppress destructive fires, investigate its causes and provide emergency medical and rescue services, and enforce other fire related laws with active involvement of the community.

There Vision: A modern fire protection agency working towards a safe and progressive society.

The 2008 Fire Code of the Philippines RA 9514 – An Act establishing a comprehensive fire code of the Philippines, repealing  Presidential Decree No. 1185 and for other purposes.

This was approved by PGMA on December 19, 2008. You may also use this link RA No. 9514 Revised Fire Code.

For Emergency Hotline Numbers that you can call for disaster emergency situations in the Philippines, especially urgent rescue and relief needs.

National Disaster Coordinating Committee (NDCC)
911-1406
911-1873
911-1906
911-5061
912-0984
912-2665
912-3046
912-5296
912-5668

Help hotlines:
734-2118
734-2120

Bureau of Fire Protection, National Capital Region
729-5166
410-6254
413-8859
407-1230

Bureau of Fire Protection, Region III (Central Luzon)
Hotline (045) 9634376

Philippine Coast Guard
527-6136

Red Cross
143
911-1876
527-0000

Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA)
136
896-6000

Taguig emergency hotline
1623

Meralco
16220
0917-5592824
0920-9292824

Sen. Manuel Villar Jr. emergency hotlines
for dumptrucks going to flooded areas for rescue of stranded people:
0917 4226800
0917 2414864
0927 6751981

Sen. Dick Gordon (Philippine National Red Cross)
Please send address of stranded friends/family to
09178997898
0938444BOYS

Hope this has been an informative to you and I want to thank you for reading.

Have a nice day! My stories about successful runs is next. Watch out! 🙂 😀

Related links below:

http://www.ehow.com/list_6715768_fire-prevention-tips-philippines.html
http://www.ehow.com/how_4965995_prevent-fire-disaster.html
http://www.ehow.com/how_4575878_prevent-fire-home.html
http://www.ehow.com/how_4536564_prevent-electrical-fires.html

About Kalongkong Hiker

I am Paolo Mercado for 20 years I've been riding a bike, walking a lot and running a lot. I am Kalongkong Hiker, a trail runner, mountaineer and a biker that can also write a blog of my travels, adventures and places that I visited through walking, running and biking. I write to encourage others to stay healthy and fit. #KeepOnRunning #ShareTheRoad #KalongkongHiker
Gallery | This entry was posted in Environment, Health, Running Bloggers, Tips & Tricks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “March is Fire Prevention Month”

  1. Brynn says:

    this blog should someone print out and installed on every train in the city

    Like

  2. whattaqueso says:

    great determination in aiming for the 10k run and UP diliman is a great place to jog and prepare.. i bet success ang run mo sa unilab.. galing ng drills in aiming for the fire prevention month.

    Like

  3. khanto says:

    sipag mo namang mag-exercise. Pati sa tabi ng kalsada ay tumatakbo.

    Hehehe, napanood ko ng konti yung bbg about sa magnanakaw ng mga nasusunugan.

    Like

    • silentpal says:

      oo kelangan healthy and fit tayo kasi napakaActive ng lifestyle natin ehehe. Commonwealth area going to UP Diliman campus ang daan ko kaya sa gilid talaga ako ng kalsada dadadan. Gusto mo sumama sa pagjojogging magsabi ka lang ehehe.

      grabe naman nasunugan na ninanakawan pa tsk tsk. san mo napanood? me link ka or youtube?

      Like

Let us know what you think. Leave a comment.

