What To Wear When Running For Beginners?

On my earlier blog I’ve shared the benefits of running on a hill and a friend requested tips on what to wear and what to bring during races or when running and I’ve thought this could be great topic.

When I am writing this I am only thinking about beginners that don’t have any idea what is the proper running outfit and what to bring during fun run but expert runners are welcome to add up and share their experiences. I still remember when I run before I use to wear white cotton t-shirt because it is  comfortable and cool.

For the footwear any rubber shoes will do and sometimes I ran just wearing pair of slippers. Why I said that I am just wearing slippers it’s because back in our province aside from the national highway the safest place to run is in rice fields.

Here in Manila it is different you have to wear the most comfortable running gear if you want to enjoy the run. Proper clothing will also necessary when hiking, climbing or joining trail run especially to first time mountaineers.

Let me start from foot wear first to head-gear as I believe in choosing the right type of running outfit can make a difference between a fun enjoyable run and a miserable run. If you are planning to start running the 1.) First thing you need to consider is the first pair of running shoes and choose the socks that shape like the foot and that feet will.

There is a lot of riding when you run and selecting a well-designed, comfortable pair of shoes will prevent injury and make running more enjoyable. I bought a pair of World Balance shoes because it made in the Philippines and there is nothing wrong in patronizing our own products. So far it didn’t fail me, I always get the best results when running.

2.) Second thing you need to consider is the clothing based on weather, since Philippines is a tropical country so it is always warm if not it is raining, though I didn’t experienced heavy rains while running. For top, mostly we choose a cotton because it is very comfortable and soaks up the sweat but when you are running it also retains all the moisture and becomes heavy and wet.

Cotton t-shirts also have uneven stitching that can cause roughness and even bleeding in extreme cases. Instead of cotton, choose running clothes that were made to wick sweat away from the skin to the outer surface so that it will easily evaporate.

I recommend using Dri fit shirts check out Nike Store or Adidas stores in a mall if you are looking for a cheaper one you can find people selling this type of merchandise in race events. You can also find one at UP Diliman Campus’ jogging lane somewhere or at QC Circle near the fountain of the park that ranges usually from Php 100 and up.

Running clothes made from tech fabric is more expensive than cotton, but it is well worth it to have a comfortable and dry run. Drifit shirts are also ideal for hiking, mountain climbing as compared to cottons.

IE8 Run Race Kit – My First Race Kit

By the way, race organizers today is giving race kits if not most of them that includes singlet it is usually made of drifit  fabric whether short sleeve or t-shirt. For Women they can run in a jogging bra aside from the singlet.

I got my first drifit shirt when I join IE8 Run organized by Microsoft Philippines. Okay, that’s for the top now we talk about the bottom and the ideal is short usually made of nylon or a technical fiber that stays dry. Some runners I see they wear tights or cycling shorts.

3.) Third thing you need to invest is for the head and this is optional but sometimes recommend these are headbands, sun visors, cap or hats to protect you from sun. Oh you can also put sun block on also but it maybe sticky at the end of the race and wanting to take a shower immediately.

Another optional running gear are gloves and jacket this will protect you from other elements. If you can afford to buy Heart rate monitor that would be better for you to check on your cardio, organizers set up booth for this. Others had a pedometer to monitor their running distance and speed.

Zorro had a complete running gear than I am

4.) Fourth item is your music gadget to avoid boredom and keeps you going. Listening to music while running will keep you going, going, going and going this can even changes your mode. Dance music works for me I tend to dance while running as well let’s grove to the beat yeah. I am using 1st Gen iPod Touch, ear phones and mobile arm band. You can either use your mobile phone or any music player.

In summary you need:

• Sneakers
• Socks
• Jogging bra ( for women)
Shirt (Preferably Dri Fit)
• Shorts, pants or tights
• Tights (optional)
• Hat
• Jacket
• gloves
• Heart rate monitor

What to bring during the race day? To answer this, just bring yourself.

This blog tips is for runners that don’t have a car or ride haha, just kidding. It’s pretty obvious that you can bring what you want because you can leave your things inside your car securely but be worried with some car thieves.

When you are going to fun runs avoid bringing many things or else it would be a mess. In every race event, there is a designated booth for bags or baggage counter. Most race bibs they included a baggage claim number.

These baggage counters are good but I don’t have a good feeling about it. Your things might get lost or in worst case scenario stolen. Whenever I go to a race what I bring is a mobile phone for when of emergency or to meet your friends on the event, enough money put it somewhere, and extra shirt.

I don’t usually bring one during my earlier runs I just let my sweat gone dry.  It’s because I am using a drifit fabric and that’s the good thing about it. As much as possible I just bring myself during races so that I don’t have to fall in line to deposit my bag and to get it again so it is ideal to have a many pockets that have a zipper on it.

I also bring a small bottle for water for when there is not enough water station. BitWater bottle is ideal for me as it is just right and I recommend for those who can’t afford to buy shoulder belts with water bottle. At the end of the race, they are giving out finishers kit in a form of a bag so you can put your things on it but check it first during registrations.

That’s it for me, if you want to add more of your experience please leave a comment below and I will update it for you. I hope this has been informative to you and have a great day! See you in your running outfit! Hope you get tips through this blog!

About Kalongkong Hiker

I am Paolo Mercado for 20 years I've been riding a bike, walking a lot and running a lot. I am Kalongkong Hiker, a trail runner, mountaineer and a biker that can also write a blog of my travels, adventures and places that I visited through walking, running and biking. I write to encourage others to stay healthy and fit. #KeepOnRunning #ShareTheRoad #KalongkongHiker
This entry was posted in Health, Running, Running Bloggers, Sports, Tips & Tricks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What To Wear When Running For Beginners?

  1. So start your day right by eating healthy foods for breakfast.
    Please check Raspberry Ketone Max dieting calculator and benefits of using raspberry ketone.
    Your unfortunate experience clearly shows you that dieting
    calculator will only make you fatter than where you started.
    All of these, and thousands of others on the shelf, are what I call diet-jumping.

    Like

  2. Juliet says:

    As expected, we see hit-and-run victim John Locke arriving at the emergency room at
    the same time as gut-shot Sun and shell-shocked Jin. Its
    flexibility features makes you move around the house freely and easily.
    Panasonic’s flagship 3D TV has the best picture quality on the market and will make you feel like a part of the action, no matter what you are watching.

    Like

  3. Ayet says:

    thanks for the tips! joining my first milo marathon this november and im really nervous (knowing that there’s a 1 hour cut-off time).

    Like

  4. We’re keeping people safe especially when running at night! Check out our new shirts: http://kikayrunner.com/2012/03/new-shirts-i-run-like-a-girl-and-run-like-a-mamaw/

    Visit us on Facebook:
    facebook.com/safeteesph
    facebook.com/kikayrunner

    Like

  5. A well written post. I’m always looking for information like this.

    Like

  6. silentpal says:

    Actually Khanto meron 3XL na size ang singlet. Sure na sure ako meron American size na drifit me kamahalan nga lang pero hanap ka sa Quiapo me makikita kang size mo. Bili ka na at takbo na tayo

    Like

  7. khanto says:

    wow. salamat sa tips. nice. sana yung dryfit na shirt may pang large persons. wakokokokok

    Like

  8. Pingback: What to wear when running for Beginners | Kalongkong - Affordable Airlines and Tickets to Philippines | Affordable Airlines and Tickets to Philippines

Let us know what you think. Leave a comment.

