The Final Test ~ Completing Unilab’s Run United 2011 Trilogy

This is it November 13th of 2011, 2 events in just 1 day. The epic Run United 3, Part 3 of Unilab’s RunRio Trilogy 2011 that starts at 4:30AM and followed by the most awaited Pacquiao vs Marquez Part 3 or Boxing trilogy after lunch.

What’s with the part 3? A double trilogy in just one day epic, isn’t it? Anyways, coincidence or not I noticed that part 3 of RU trilogy and part 3 of the boxing match is indeed happening on the same day and the real story here is that me running for the last 3rd and last leg of Unilab’s Run United 2011 Trilogy and I then will watch the boxing match of our very own People’s Champ afterwards. Im’ to excited and I believe it’s gonna be a another crime free day for the Philippines. Let’s support Manny Pacman Pacquiao & me haha! 😀

Having said that, let’s take a look back on my past runs and how I started to love running to have an active lifestyle.

1.) Unilab Run United 1 or RUNRIO 2011, where I finished 10K. Geeh, I’m still fat here. 🙂

On this run, I am using World Balance trail running shoes, my iPod Gen 1 for music to boost my running and my favorite blue colored Nike shorts.

Pictures courtesy of Active Moments.

2.) 2nd Leg of Unilab’s Run United Runrio 2011 Trilogy where I conquered 21K (half marathon) for the first time without any preparation and training plan. If I only known earlier then I would have been avoided what running coaches say “Too much, too soon”.

Well, I am a 21K finisher and that’s quite an accomplishment to me though struggled from finishing my run and there’s a lot more walking than running I still crossed the line.  🙂

Here I changed my running shoe and used Nike, a 2nd hand and old shoe from my brother Maichee, where he used in his UP Pep Squad days. Oh yeah, it’s in our blood to be a dancer and it is my brother’s greatest dream come true to become a Pep.

On this run, I am now using a watch timer courtesy of Trend Micro (haha) to monitor my pace and included my would be signature bandana head gear courtesy of Gawad Kalinga that say’s “Bawat Pilipino Bayani” – “Every Pilipino is a Hero” and still using my iPod Gen. 1 for music on the road to boost my running where I dance like crazy while running. 😀

Photos courtesy of Runrio

3.) For Unilab Run United 3 I will be wearing my newly purchased pair of running shoe, it is not yet totally worn or break in for car enthusiasts term but I think Mizuno VS-1 X10 is the best running shoe that I had in my life as an athlete.

I first tested this and ran 5K in Garfield Runner’s Cup at Manila Ocean Park, the day before RU3 will kick in. So far, everything is good, the sole is as good as shock absorber. I didn’t got any blisters, no injury and it didn’t hurt my feet at all. I love my Mizuno running shoe already. Good luck to me in conquering my 3rd and last leg of Run United!  😀

About Kalongkong Hiker

I am Paolo Mercado for 20 years I've been riding a bike, walking a lot and running a lot. I am Kalongkong Hiker, a trail runner, mountaineer and a biker that can also write a blog of my travels, adventures and places that I visited through walking, running and biking. I write to encourage others to stay healthy and fit. #KeepOnRunning #ShareTheRoad #KalongkongHiker
This entry was posted in Health, Running, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let us know what you think. Leave a comment.

