Modus Operandi: Be Vigilant, Be Aware and Get Informed!

Al Rio shares her experience and was able to draw a sketch. Read her story about Modus  Operandi of scumbags, swindlers and crooks. Like here Facebook Page here.

Last December 9, I was standing at the ledge waiting for the train at Pureza LRT station. I have just come from an all-nighter over a project that had an urgent deadline. I stepped back to rest on the railings by the station windows. A man well-dressed like an HR dude in slacks and polo was standing beside me to rest on the railings, too.

He did not have any baggage of sort. Just the clothes on him. He had fair skin and well shaved. He was looking at me. Behind him was a squat man with dark skin, dark clothes and a backpack. He stood close to the man in polo. They were both looking at me. The last thing I saw was a woman, several feet away, with wavy hair tied back in a half-moon and dressed in deep red blazer office attire looking at me.

The next thing I knew, I was back standing at the ledge, but the train doors have closed and the train left! The men are gone, but the woman remained. She was still looking at me. I must have lost awareness of what happened in-between. I quickly checked my things. They were intact. The woman then looked away. Then I suddenly felt nauseous and my chest hurt like as if I was about to have an asthma attack. My guess was that the men who were beside me quickly passed a weak but effective drug under my nose and I lost awareness.

When they saw the woman looking in our direction, they probably had a hard time making things look casual as they led me towards the train with them. By the time I reached the train doors, the high-pitched beeping sounds and the guard’s whistle must’ve woken me up. I called in sick, that next day. It took me a couple of days more to regain my full faculties. When I was able to gather myself, I sat down and began sketching the faces of the men.

My mom contacted me to ask what happened. After I told her, she said that her friend experienced a similar situation. The friend wasn’t so lucky. She lost her jewels and she couldn’t even remember how or why she gave them to the stranger. My mom also said that there is a syndicate going around kidnapping people and taking their internal organs to sell.

Having seen the local news a few days before, I learned that a kidney would sell for P18,000 in the black market. It’s the holiday season and the pressure for money is high.

To gain an easy P18,000 would mean a “holiday feast” for the criminals and their families. At the cost of others. So much for “Christmas” season. I hope this rough sketch will help catch the criminals. I hope this will help others, especially commuters, to avoid the misfortune of being in the hands evil people. Stay safe, everyone.

In emergency cases remember this number 117. Colloquially, it is also called Patrol 117, the name used by the Philippine National Police, where the number originated. It is the only emergency telephone number in the world that is accessible through both voice telephony and text messaging.

About Kalongkong Hiker

I am Paolo Mercado for 20 years I've been riding a bike, walking a lot and running a lot. I am Kalongkong Hiker, a trail runner, mountaineer and a biker that can also write a blog of my travels, adventures and places that I visited through walking, running and biking. I write to encourage others to stay healthy and fit. #KeepOnRunning #ShareTheRoad #KalongkongHiker
Gallery | This entry was posted in Outreach, Parenting, Travel & Leisure and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let us know what you think. Leave a comment.

