March 8 is International Women’s Day!

No. 8 to me has meanings not just because its the lucky number for Chinese it is also because the birth dates of our 2 kids Rhian Pauleen and Paul Jacob falls on the 8th day, November and September respectively.

Isn’t September 8th is Blessed Mama Mary’s birthday also?

Yes, it is, Christian‘s celebrate it including Immaculate Conception during the 8th of December every year.

So I am glad that today March 8, it is the International Women’s Day. In this regard, I pay respect and thankful to all the women in the world and especially to my Mom and all the mothers in the world, to my wife, to my sister and to my daughter.

A little trivia from Yahoo News! Philippines… Read below.

Though women’s day celebrations have been going on since the early 1900s, it only became a popular event in 1977 when the United Nations General Assembly enjoined its member states to proclaim March 8 as the UN Day for Women’s Rights and International Peace. Over the years, March also came to be tagged—albeit unofficially—as Women’s Month.

Continue reading here courtesy of Yahoo News Philippines, to know more about how women are given empowerment and why it is celebrated in such a way we respect their rights and freedom as equally as men. I personally give thanks to all the women in the world. Long live!

About Kalongkong Hiker

I am Paolo Mercado for 20 years I've been riding a bike, walking a lot and running a lot. I am Kalongkong Hiker, a trail runner, mountaineer and a biker that can also write a blog of my travels, adventures and places that I visited through walking, running and biking. I write to encourage others to stay healthy and fit. #KeepOnRunning #ShareTheRoad #KalongkongHiker
This entry was posted in Family, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let us know what you think. Leave a comment.

