Me joins GK Homebuilding Project for the 5th Time Around!

Today, April 16th until April 20th of this year will be my 4th year of volunteering and joining Home Building Project sponsored by our company Trend Micro and partnership with Gawad Kalinga. Our mission is to share our time and volunteer to build a home and end poverty through GK communities. It’s Trend Micro Worldwide way of giving back to the community here in the Philippines.

To know more about GK and their mission and vision visit GK1world.com.

I myself came from a poor family and in our community we are the average and most of our neighbors are considered poor. That’s one of my reasons why I keep on coming back and joining this because I am helping build home and build lives and I believe in GK’s mission and vision of building communities to end poverty.

There are many ways to help, I choose to volunteer and spent my time with the less fortunate. How about you?

Home Building Project 2009, GK Dr. Jose Rizal, Laguna

Homebuilding Project 2009 (The ditch we dug)

Homebuilding Project 2010 GK Dr. Jose Rizal, Laguna

Homebuilding Student Trip 2011 - GK SGV88 Bagong Silang

We are Homebuilders!

If you notice, we are being referred to as “homebuilder” and not “house-builder.” Although we will be helping build houses, our purpose is far greater!

We are helping restore a home. The house is just a starting point, a tool for the families to help reclaim what they never had all their lives — dignity as human beings. By doing this, we empower the poor to hope, dream and have a better life.

During the course of the program, we will always have an open mind and an open heart. This will enable us to learn great things about others and things about ourselves as well.

The challenge is great but the reward is far greater!

Happy HOMEbuilding!

About Kalongkong Hiker

I am Paolo Mercado for 20 years I've been riding a bike, walking a lot and running a lot. I am Kalongkong Hiker, a trail runner, mountaineer and a biker that can also write a blog of my travels, adventures and places that I visited through walking, running and biking. I write to encourage others to stay healthy and fit. #KeepOnRunning #ShareTheRoad #KalongkongHiker
This entry was posted in Events, Family, Outreach, Parenting, Running Bloggers, Travel & Leisure and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let us know what you think. Leave a comment.

