Let’s Learn Chi Running Technique – A Pain Free Running!

I already blog about me being out for 5 days and doing the home building project and during that 5 days of non-work activities I met interesting and exciting people from different side of the globe.

Freestyle Swim

Just recently a newly acquainted friend from Argentina who’s into running introduced a running technique that is injury or pain-free and American friend corrected my bad swimming form for free style when we swim together at the hotel that has a pool during our free time after the build. It gave me an idea that the are both want me to defy the center of gravity and that there is a correct and proper posture to any type of activity be it running, walking, biking and swim.

2008 is the year I started joining in paid fun runs or should I say registered runs and in my every run I feel some discomfort, injury or pain whenever I cross the finish line. I experienced chapping and it is so painful in the skin especially down there, many times leg cramps, runners knee and the very bad one was the Achilles tendonitis on my left foot etc.

When Gustavo from Argentina first asked me if I am into running because he sees my Run United 3 finisher shirt that say’s on the back “I’m a 21K finisher” I hurriedly said yes and he told me he his also into running, that’s the very first time we talked one on one.

Me with Gustavo. Farewell my friend keep on running.

He started to share his running experiences with me, his usual running routines, pre-run/post-run habits and his plan of running a full marathon this year, Good Luck Señor and hope I run a full marathon someday.

During our farewell night me and then eventually guys from Taiwan got interested in our discussion about running, we all share the experience running then the last time I remember Gustavo from Argentina mentioned about Chi Running or running having your body in the center of the gravity.

Ever familiar with T’ai Chi or does it sound familiar with you?

The Chi Running approach is based on the same mindful principles and orientation as Yoga, Pilates, and T’ai Chi: working with core muscles, integrating mind and body, focusing on long-term performance. At the heart of it is your process of discovery. It doesn’t matter what anyone else is doing (how fast or far they can run).  What matters is the quality of your experience and the sustainability of your well-being. Watch the video below, to know more about it:

The Chi Running Technique.

The pain-free Chi Running technique blends the powerful movement principles from T’ai Chi with running to create a revolutionary approach to effortless and injury-free running.

The cornerstones of  Chi Running are postural alignment and relaxation because the combination of the two is the best way to run faster, farther and injury-free. The Chi Running technique includes: landing with a midfoot strike, using a “gravity-assisted” forward lean and engaging core strength for propulsion  rather than leg strength. This approach makes your running easier and healthier for your whole body.

The Chi Running technique shares many components with the Kenyans and East Africans who are some of the most relaxed and efficient runners in the world and who have dominated the long distance racing scene for decades.

Chi Running teaches this technique to all levels of runners through an easy and enjoyable, step-by-step system.

To know more about Chi Running you may visit chirunning.com.

Prior to this blog, I didn’t know much about Chi Running nor consulted Mr. Google yet and all I know is that you should have a good posture, correct stride and position your body at the center. I used this collected information when I ran Hyundai Run for a Cause last Sunday (April 27, 2012).

I was surprised with the result. I ran my 5K non-stop without any pain and finished it strong, I timed my self more or less 30 minutes. I’m still waiting for the race result as of this writing. This only proves that I must continue to use Chi Running Technique. I like the idea of minimizing your movements to save energy and keep your body at the center of the gravity, run faster and finish strong.

Group picture of finishers of Hyundai Run for a Cause 2012.

Special thanks to Gustavo for sharing your experience in running and Monica for teaching me the proper posture of swimming like a rescuer, all of this are truly an inspiration.

About Kalongkong Hiker

I am Paolo Mercado for 20 years I've been riding a bike, walking a lot and running a lot. I am Kalongkong Hiker, a trail runner, mountaineer and a biker that can also write a blog of my travels, adventures and places that I visited through walking, running and biking. I write to encourage others to stay healthy and fit. #KeepOnRunning #ShareTheRoad #KalongkongHiker
This entry was posted in Events, Health, Mountaineering, Running, Running Bloggers, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let us know what you think. Leave a comment.

