Top 4 mistakes I did as a newbie runner and lessons learned.

Yesterday, while on my home I got a slight flash back on my first runs and I reflected on it until I remember the one thing that I said to myself and what I said is that someday I will run longer distances too and which I did running half marathons last year and more.

Internet Explorer 8 Run | My 4miles run and first run @BGC sometime in 2008.

The longest distance that I ran so far is the 24K mountain run during last Salomon Xtrail Pilipinas 2012 held at Tagaytay Highlands early this year where we endure road running, trail or dirt running with uphill and downhills. Then one day I want to do a full marathon or join Ironman 70.3 though it’s a long shot but I am sure I can do it with the help of running buddies it’s not bad to dream about it.

Photo courtesy of Pinoy Fitness. Note: This Ironman70.3 event is already done.

Back in 2008, where I joined my first ever fun run here in Metro Manila I ran 4 Miles that’s 6.43737 kilometers be exact when converted because distance in the Philippines is measured in kilometers (i.e. 4/kph) instead of miles. The said fun run sponsored by Microsoft Philippines is a way to promote Internet Explorer‘s launching of its new version, they call it the “IE8 Run”.

It’s been 4 years already since that day and I run more often and I tried to improve my every run, I even experimented during the race just to have a good race time and yet I still not satisfied and I felt like I’m not a complete runner but I am getting there. On this blog I wanted to discuss my mistakes or common mistakes of beginners, I don’t know and I can’t say, haha!

I was not in good shape when I ran it and I thought I can finish 4 miles easily but I under estimated it and I got lots of short comings on that very first run. I listed down below my mistakes and these are the following:

First mistake, I didn’t have training nor preparation before my first fun run or race day so my stamina are endurance is down and I couldn’t keep up with others to run even if I do jog and I ended up walking just to finish it.

Early morning run @Manaoag

Lesson: Having a preparation and training before a race will make sure that you get your best PR – personal record. Though I didn’t have a detailed plan and not writing down my mileage I make sure to train before the big day. If I am running 15K, I usually ran 5K in my first day, then 5K the next day and so on until I completed a 15K. I also add speed run and then some endurance run. It depends on you how you can do this, some runners do the 10% rule and that is adding more mileage to your previous run.

Second mistake, I didn’t have a good night sleep, I mean, I wake up 12am and didn’t get back to bed maybe I am too excited about my run and I ended up watching movies instead of getting more z’s and I felt sleepy during the race.

Lesson: Runners should get 8-10 hours of sleep before the race day to do better and if you want to improved your race time. It is during our sleep time our muscle tissues do the repair and recovery after an intense run and road work.

Third mistake that I make that day is that I ran using my basketball shoes and it was so damn heavy and I can’t push-off. I ended up running in a basketball stance.

My Mizuno Running Shoes

Lesson: The first thing and the most important piece of equipment in running is your running shoe. Make sure that you select to right running shoe that best fits your feet be more effective during the race and to prevent injuries. If you can’t afford to buy a new pair of shoes try barefoot running, I’ve seen barefoot runners and they have the best running form some say and not only that they make their feet stronger and not to mention it is cheaper because no shoes needed. Haha! 🙂 I may run barefoot one day when I couldn’t afford to buy one.

Fourth mistake, I used a regular fanny pack to store my mobile phone, wallet and iPod Touch and it was hurting my waist and I was too heavy that it bounces on my back so annoying, I said to my self I should left this on the baggage area together with my bag. 😦

Hydration Belt with bottles

Lesson: When running make sure to wear the proper running gear, a running belt would be nice to put your personal things, cellphone, wallet, money or music gadget then deposit your other belongings at the baggage area to avoid burdens when running. Much better if don’t wear one at all if you’re running short distance though you will really need it in long distance runs. Make sure to be light or be a minimalist.

You may check out running stores for hydration belts or packs available locally, I just bought my Conquer Trail 11 Hydration pack it is best used for trail running and mountain biking, it has a hydration hole and compartment for bike helmet and 2 water bottle mesh hole with safety straps.

Conquer Trail 11 Hydration Pack

They maybe a couple more beginner’s mistakes and I just listed my top 4 mistakes and I know there are more. I just wanted you to know that I learned from all that because they say that the best teacher is experience which is true because you are actually there and trying to cope up and resolve any issues that you meet then will avoid making the same mistakes twice. Hope this blog in a way help you avoid it and if you have something to share with others please send me a personal message or leave a comment below. Thanks!

The best thing that you should do, read running blogs, join a running club or attend free running clinics everywhere check out Runner’s World Philippines website or RunRio.com, you may also join Adidas’ AdiNation Runners of 2012 or any running clubs out there.

KaRUNungan Challenge 2010 | Me at the starting/finish line.

To all beginners out there, avoid making the same mistakes that I did, start seeing running stores or clubs today and asked them around what is the best practices to you first run and get ready to cross the finish line with convenience, injury free and healthy. See you at the finish line running buddies. 😀

About Kalongkong Hiker

I am Paolo Mercado for 20 years I've been riding a bike, walking a lot and running a lot. I am Kalongkong Hiker, a trail runner, mountaineer and a biker that can also write a blog of my travels, adventures and places that I visited through walking, running and biking. I write to encourage others to stay healthy and fit. #KeepOnRunning #ShareTheRoad #KalongkongHiker
This entry was posted in Health, Running, Sports, Tips & Tricks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let us know what you think. Leave a comment.

