Swim 101: Learning Freestyle – Arm Pull, Kicking & Breathing

Yesterday, I started learning the basics of Freestyle stroke and I felt good about it. I know how to swim the dog paddle way but not the freestyle. This will be my first formal swimming lesson ever in my entire life, yeah, this is freaking true and I am getting more excited and looking forward to become like Michael Phelps of U.S.A. or our very own Eric Buhain who is famous in swimming athlete bringing golds and Philippines‘ pride and glory.

Isn’t it too late for a 30-year-old like me? Actually, not yet too late try to watch an inspiring YouTube videos of Ironman held in Kona, Hawaii I learned that the oldest participant started to join this toughest endurance race in the World at the age of 50. Conquer your fear and have that goal, is all I can say and others say about this. I was also inspired about the story of a father and his son who was born with a disability who saved many lives and inspire many people, try searching Team Hoyt or Dick and Rick Hoyt. This is one of a hell great motivational story of N E V E R  G I V I N G  U P and showing to others that we can do anything if we dream and set our goals about something or about one thing it is not impossible. I dare you to get inspiration and do something about it.

Summer outing @Caylabne Beach Resort

Learning how to swim, (not just the swim itself but the freestyle) for me this is the start of my One Big Goal. I wanna be called an Ironman one day too. Having many friends is always been a treasure to me, my swim coach is one of them. I asked him to become my swim coach without second thoughts he said yes. I know I can’t afford to go to a swimming school so all I can is to ask my friends to train me and correct my form whether be in running, swimming and biking.

The lesson starts: Since it’s my first day, what my swim coach did is to let me swim my style first and then started to correct me. He started with the breathing, taking in a deep breath and breath out in the water unto your nose, then corrected my body and head position. My goal is to be able to swim freestyle illustrated on the video below:

At first I was looking forward with my head’s up, he told me to look down. With my arm pull, I was exaggerating my stroke, glide and arm pull but it is the wrong way. My arm pull comes in almost all directions and I am doing it fast, he said to try doing the right way, arms lay forward like a lazy boy, fingers should be the one to touch the water first then next is the elbow putting your arms in the center which at first I couldn’t do but because of my determination I should do the correct way and I did according to him.

My biggest problem though is the kicking, my legs should be together and use it as flippers but my feet goes apart when I do it because I am doing the bicycle kick and not using it as flippers, think of fish fins according to him. Too bad it’s time for us to be out of the pool and we set it to correct the next swim lesson. That is the first lessons that day and looking forward to have more sessions.

Me and personal swim coach will be doing this every Tuesday and Thursday 2:30-4:30PM and those who wanted to train with us you may send me a personal message or leave a comment. Come train with us and let’s learn how to swim freestyle. This is definitely free and we are paying it forward. Just bring your swim gear (i.e. trunks, cycling and goggles).

Philsports Arena/Ultra swimming pool is open 8AM -4:30PM for a Php65.00 entrance fee.

About Kalongkong Hiker

I am Paolo Mercado for 20 years I've been riding a bike, walking a lot and running a lot. I am Kalongkong Hiker, a trail runner, mountaineer and a biker that can also write a blog of my travels, adventures and places that I visited through walking, running and biking. I write to encourage others to stay healthy and fit. #KeepOnRunning #ShareTheRoad #KalongkongHiker
This entry was posted in Health, Sports, Travel & Leisure and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swim 101: Learning Freestyle – Arm Pull, Kicking & Breathing

  1. khanto says:

    kaya ko yung kicking pero hindi ko natutunan ang freestyle. Yan ang weakness ko.

    pati pala paglangoy sa malalims.

    Like

Let us know what you think. Leave a comment.

