Happy Father’s Day!

Daddy Oedat. It’s the reverse of Tadeo if you read it backwards.

I have a little confession to make and I’ll make is brief as possible as I can promise. To begin with, my father is a runner before I got into running. He was in fact one of the fastest runner in his prime and that’s he was name after a fictional character “Darko”, a half man – half horse, famous in Classic Pinoy Comics. According to my dad, and confirmed by his friends and my uncle Bong (his little brother) nobody can beat him in track and field, sprint and running is his sport next to martial arts. He’s into running before I started running.

Sad to say but an unfortunate event struck his life when I was a year old kid, he had a bad stroke that paralyzed half of his body, what happened that day was not really clear to me because I haven’t got a chance to ask him about it personally. Hmmm, sounds like it’s a good topic huh, why not, I’ll make time to had a one on one interview with Daddy Tadeo and I’ll post it here.

I am not that close to my father because I really became independent and didn’t seek out his help at times maybe because I don’t want to give him more burdens and I’ll be honest I left home 6 years ago so that’s Year 2006 because of him. What happened back then, we had a huge physical fight when I tried to protect my mom from becoming a battered wife, I couldn’t stand it anymore that unforgettable night and everybody knows in our community Sitio Calungcung or Kalongkong City as I call it that I didn’t dare to fight with him I just wrestled him up away from my mom and to stop what he is doing before it gets worst I don’t want to have a blood shed because I ignore it. 

That event change ourlives, my dad realized what he did though we have a closure about that but I heard to his friends that he is really sorry about it and one time we had a one on one jamming session and he said to me angrily in Tagalog “Alam mo pinabilib mo na ako eh, wag ka lang masyadong magdunong-dunugan” – “You made me believe in you but don’t be smart kid”.  Again, I didn’t utter any words to him, I just keep it casual.

Father & Son: This picture is taken when he visited me at my apartment just this year when he tried to work in construction.

That made me realize that I need a change and I found myself traveling here in Metro Manila and so far found success. I can say that it’s because I love my father that I didn’t want to failed him. My Dad Tadeo is a fighter to me because he fight for his life and he proved to us that being a half paralyzed person will not stop him to become  a good father and person.

Right now, I am doing what I can to become a good father of two, it’s been 4 years now since our first born was brought into the world and this is my way of saying Happy Father’s Day! I hope Dad can read this but he is not the Internet surfer type of guy in fact he doesn’t have a Facebook, Twitter or even Friendster account. Haha! Still he’s the best dad for me, I love you Daddy and I wish he lives healthier and happy now that they had 2 grand kids PJ and Vanining and that’s the greatest gift that I can give to him and to my mom. To all fathers out day, Happy Father’s Day to you too!

About Kalongkong Hiker

I am Paolo Mercado for 20 years I've been riding a bike, walking a lot and running a lot. I am Kalongkong Hiker, a trail runner, mountaineer and a biker that can also write a blog of my travels, adventures and places that I visited through walking, running and biking. I write to encourage others to stay healthy and fit. #KeepOnRunning #ShareTheRoad #KalongkongHiker
This entry was posted in Events, Family, Running, Running Bloggers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let us know what you think. Leave a comment.

