Review: Runner’s World PH Running Clinic 05/15/2012 (Ultra)

Last Month, May 15, 2012 I attended my first ever running clinic, that’s right for the first time I attended a running clinic since I started running in 2008 and there are so many things to unlearn here.

In the past, I am running just for the seek of finishing a race and I really don’t know my goal, all I know is that I can finish it, it’s my will that is telling me but like me and any other runners I experience injuries too, of course I started with shorter distance going to half marathon and this year I wanted to try a full marathon then go for ultra-marathon or triathlon.

Registration Booth

To be able to do this I started reading blogs about running, reading magazines and so on but I felt like reading alone is not enough so I tried to seek professional advice or at least a good advice from experience marathoners and triathletes as written in one of the magazines and that’s one of my goal and attending Runner’s World Philippines is a good start for me.

Josh the walk-in early bird

We are the early birds.

I asked my running buddy Josh to tag alone with me on this Running Clinic to be conducted by Monica Torres – a three time Elite Triathlon Champion at Philsports Arena or commonly known as Ultra and without hesitation he said yes and we go there earlier because I am registered already and Josh will have to register as a walk in.

All sweat because of the 1 round sprint that I did before the start of the clinic.

We paid a entrance fee of Php 35.00 per head at the entrance booth then proceed at the dug out to change our running outfit. We waited a couple of minutes before the clinic started, while waiting my boredom kicks in so I asked Josh to time me and I will run a full sprint at the 400 meter oval and I think my time is around 2 minutes or less then after that one round sprint the clinic started and I am sweating haha.

Monica Torres

Finally, I met Monica Torres in person and I listen to every word she say and her running lesson for the day is warming up. After introducing herself and what will be the scope of the clinic we go down the oval to start with the warming up tips. On this clinic, I learned the difference of dynamic and static warm up and according to Monica based on studies conducted by experts they prefer doing a dynamic warm up over static. I can’t really explain the difference but I like the idea of dynamic warm ups. Here they teach us some dynamic exercises, the lunges, the plank exercises, heel strikes, butt kicks, slide and go etc. By the way, on this clinic I finally get to learn the mid foot strike though I already read it through magazines but seeing it was different. They always say that mid foot strike is the neutral or most efficient way to run.

Too bad I didn’t have a notebook to write all down the pointers including the drills that we did so I can’t share it here but I got one on Monica’s running blog 3isgreaterthan1.com and on this link are some dynamic exercises she lectured us that night click this link: To Stretch or Not To Stretch Before a Training or Race.

After doing dynamic exercises, we hit the track oval and they let us run 5 rounds, starting with slow, medium, moderate going faster and it felt good because me and Josh lead the pack and we are the first ones to finish it. After that, we go back to the bench and it ended with another lectures and question and answer portion.

Runner’s World Philippines back issue and Iberet Mutlivitamins + Iron

Before the clinic ends, all participants are given back copies of Runner’s World Philippines Magazine April/June 2011 issue where Piolo is the cover, 4 tablets of Iberet Multivitamins + Iron. Then we took a group picture, I asked Monica Torres to have a picture with me and with Josh and then bids goodbye.

Meet and greet with Monica Torres

After this clinic, I went to Meralco Fitness Gym and played basketball and I felt big difference in my run. Thanks Runner’s World Philippines and Monica Torres of 3isgreaterthan1 for conducting a free running clinic and give away.

Let’s go Runner’s World. The Kalongkong Pose!

Watch out for my next running clinic review last June 5, 2012 with Monica Torres again at Ultra together with the Editor-In-Chief of Runner’s World Philippines Magazine Marie Calica. Thank you for reading and don’t hesitate to leave a comment, I appreciate it!

About Kalongkong Hiker

I am Paolo Mercado for 20 years I've been riding a bike, walking a lot and running a lot. I am Kalongkong Hiker, a trail runner, mountaineer and a biker that can also write a blog of my travels, adventures and places that I visited through walking, running and biking. I write to encourage others to stay healthy and fit. #KeepOnRunning #ShareTheRoad #KalongkongHiker
This entry was posted in Events, Health, Running, Running Bloggers, Sports, Tips & Tricks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Runner’s World PH Running Clinic 05/15/2012 (Ultra)

  1. Pingback: Grab A Copy of Runner’s World Philippines Magazine Jul-Sept 2012 Issue: Triathlon King Arland Macasieb Is On The Cover | Kalongkong Hiker

  2. Pingback: I {Heart} Running Clinic & Thrive Personal Fitness Guest Post « Run More Awesome

Let us know what you think. Leave a comment.

