Shoe Review: Men’s New Balance SM920TM 2E

This is my first attempt to review a shoe and I hope I can deliver what is expected haha, well, feel free to provide any feedback by leaving a comment below after you read this article and I appreciate it. 🙂 I’m not into details but I hope my research and knowledge about this shoe that I’m about to review will give you idea what’s like to have a shoe like this and that gives you some points in buying your next pair of running shoe whether in road race or trail run.

Men’s New Balance SM920TM 2E Orange Rainbow Vibram Water Shoe

Product Description:

A quick drying water shoe to go from the water to the trail. Its features include Vibram® outsole, Razor siping outsole, C-CAP midsole, H2FLOW, water resistant upper, a quick pull lacing system and a molded EVA insert.

Fit: True to Size

Features of this item include: Beach, Exercise, Trail.

Definitions:
Midsole: The part of the shoe between the outsole and the insole that is often cushioned.

Outsole: The very bottom of the shoe, the part that contacts the ground.

EVA: Ethyl Vinyl Acetate. A soft, cellular foam material known for its lightweight, flexible and cushioning properties.

Upper: The part of the shoe that covers the top part of the foot, from heel to toe.

Vibram: Special rubber compound that ensures high abrasion resistance and optimized grip.

My story about this shoe. After my last trail run with Merrel Adventure Run 2012 last June 2 of this year at Timberland Heights, Rizal, I’ve thought of buying a new trail shoes again because the shoe that I am using is almost worn out and I actually had it repaired with a local shoe man where I paid Php 50.00 for the labor. It’s a Merrell shoe with Vibram sole so I’m kinda looking for this feature because of its high abrasion resistance and optimized grip.

For me, Vibram soles are proven tested in muddy trails, slippery tiles and rocks. Even though it is heavier than a usual running shoe especially when soaked with water or mud what I’m after really is the comfort and stability that is gives to my feet. I also like the air cushion technology of its midsole where when it is wet it easily dries up or wicks easily while still in use.

Having said that, after a basketball game on Friday morning at Club 650, Libis, QC. Me and a friend visited shoe store depot (Shoe Warehouse) where you can buy a pair of shoe up to 60% discount. I said that I just wanted to see these shoes on sale and it turned out that I found what I am looking (sort of, haha) I’m actually looking for a minimalist one that has a Vibram sole be it Merrell brand, a New Balance or other shoe brands.  Look what I found, a brand new “New Balance SM920TM 2E”, a Orange Rainbow Vibram Water Shoe I felt a strong connection to this shoe (just kidding, haha 🙂 ) because of its visible water drainage system with a Vibram sole, it’s exactly what I am looking for.

I tried to put in on and it was a perfect fit and because it is the last piece) so I was like 20 to 30 minutes thinking whether to buy it or not. With the help of my friend and a lot of convincing I made up my mind and said that I would go for it so I hurriedly go to the cashier, paid it because we are starving already. Oh by the way, I bought it with a 50% discount, visit Shoe Warehouse stores near you for shoes on sale and discounts. 🙂

The next day, my new trail shoe had it début when I ran “Run for Light” at Mind Museum, Bonifacio Global City, a run for a cause organized by Stiftung Solarenergie. It was a rainy morning I think it was Typhoon Ferdie that visited the country so the event declared rain or shine by the race organizers which is really the perfect time for me to test my shoe.

The verdict: The midsole is compose of C-CAP or a slipper/flipper like fabric so it’s optional for you to put a socks on, since its my first time to use it I used my 5 fingers dri-fit socks to avoid getting blisters. When running in the rain, I feel no water stays inside, it simply drifts off and the good thing about this is water doesn’t stay inside so I was like the so-called drainage system or technology that they put on what ever they call it’s indeed working, nice plus it doesn’t gets heavier. This is so perfect for my next trail run I believe. 🙂 It also dries easily, I tried drying it up using an electric fan overnight and when I woke up it is dry as expected. I haven’t tried in an air-conditioned room though but I’m pretty much sure it will dry up and actually it is recommend to dry it up in the open air.

Performance: It gives me a great impression and I actually enjoyed running it even flooded pavements. It was ideal for neutral, mid foot and forefoot strikers and I can go on and on and on be it an easy run, tempo run, race pace and all out. Not to mention a quick pull lacing system is good because you don’t have to worry to tie it up all you need to do is pull and snap. This shoe performs well according to your pace and it really pays it forward.

This is a great outdoors shoe made for land or water. I would recommend it to anyone who likes to spend time out side and tired of the cheap water shoes and sandals. These work great when hiking or boating. This is very useful in flooded areas actually. I love this shoe. 🙂

About Kalongkong Hiker

I am Paolo Mercado for 20 years I've been riding a bike, walking a lot and running a lot. I am Kalongkong Hiker, a trail runner, mountaineer and a biker that can also write a blog of my travels, adventures and places that I visited through walking, running and biking. I write to encourage others to stay healthy and fit. #KeepOnRunning #ShareTheRoad #KalongkongHiker
This entry was posted in Health, Running, Sports, Tips & Tricks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shoe Review: Men’s New Balance SM920TM 2E

  1. jazzrunner says:

    Pao–you didn’t tell how much?:-)

    Like

    • Kalongkong Hiker says:

      5K less 50% so it was Php 2,500 (last pair na rin that time, nakalagay pa sa box Reserved siguro di na kinuha ng ngpareserve hehehe)

      Like

Let us know what you think. Leave a comment.

