Real Steel | A Whole New Way to Enjoy Robots & Boxing

Last Friday, I got a text message from my not so busy brother Robert who works at Convergys as a call center agent asking me if I wanted to see a movie  the together with our over staying University of the Philippines Film Institute student brother MicVinDelMer, with an idea of three of us bonding together and take a break from work, so, I asked what movie it is and he said Real Steel, I said yes as long as he will pay for my movie ticket, haha, he agreed.

After my 2am to 11am Saturday shift, I went straight to bed to make sure to get sleep so that I could come and at around 6pm I woke up sending a text message to my brother Robert, me asking him where they are now or if they are already watching the movie, he said they’re just on their way to the movie house, so, I rushed to go out without taking a shower haha because I know I will be late if I do they will not mind me smell awful. 😀

I didn’t bother checking movie reviews about the movie that we are about to watch, I don’t have a TV set in my apartment either to see thrillers but I see movie posters of Real Steel in malls and cinemas on my way to work and when I go home. On the movie poster, all I see are 2 robots on a fighting stance inside the ring and in my mind after seeing that poster it being controlled by humans like game consoles (i.e. Wii, Sony‘s Kinect etc.) I don’t even know that it was Hugh Jackman the very famous Wolverine character in live movies and  the charming and gorgeous Evangeline Lilly who portrayed ex-con Kate Austen of island drama Lost that I am following, I wonder what happened in last season as I didn’t see it yet, anyway, as I was saying, I don’t any idea what was the movie about and the cast of characters because lately I’m not into watching movies because of I’ve been busy lately with parenting, working, running and of course blogging. 🙂

As much as possible I don’t want to spoil the movie, so, I will try not to, all I can say is from start to end this movie made me really sit back, relaxed and enjoy that I don’t want to blink my eyes just to will make sure that I see all the action as it is amazing, interesting and very different with movies like Avatar, Transformers and not falling into asleep as I did with earlier movies like Alice in Wonderland The Movie, Harry Potter 7 parts 1 and 2, Source Code, Drive Angry and others. I’ve seen on this movie almost all  of my favorites like robots, dancing, boxing & part mixed martial arts, gadgets, big trucks or cars and the father-and-son relationship. Overall experience? It’s awesome, I give this movie a 2 thumbs up or 100% in movie review, it’s all new way of experiencing a movie. Shawn Levy really did a good job on this movie, brought justice to what expected or more, I wish to see more retro movies like this that has a touch of future.

Why robots, dancing, boxing or MMA, gadgets, automobiles and father-and-son story?

As a kid, I can say that we all love robots so it was very wholesome for all ages I grew up watching Transformers cartoon series, Voltes 5, Power Rangers etc. Personally I love dancing, so, I thrilled when Max Kenton (Dakota Goyo) put his robot Atom in shadow mode and cracked a dance it rises more excitement in me. When I was a kid I used to fight street boxing in our town during town fiesta I don’t fear even if my opponent is bigger than me or older than me, I don’t care if they beat me up as long as I challenged them and for doing that I earned their respect and drove away bullies haha. I really worked for me to the point of self-defense only and let’s put it in my childhood memory haha. All Filipinos love boxing too and thanks to People’s Champ Manny Pacquiao that put the Philippines into fame my friends call me Manny because I look like him. 🙂 As an IT Professional I do love high-tech gadgets and the first thing that caught my attention was the famous ensemble of HP letters that stands for Hewlett-Packard one of the few computer brands worldwide that manufacture and sells printers, personal computers, laptops and other mobile devices.  They are so ambitious that they featured an interesting futuristic images or concept of how we see things in the future now that touch screen is a reality and we’ve gone into thin laptops, monitors to tablet computing it is no surprise for me thanks to Steve Job’s iPod products and rival Android products these are all possible. Search engine Bing.com is also featured on this movie.

Men all love cars but Charlie Kenton’s (Hugh Jackman) truck is awesome as it could be a home on the road and that is one of my biggest dream to have a RV vehicle or Runaway Van for my travels possibly with my family.

The first father-and-son movie that I could remember touched my heart is The Pursuit of Happyness starring Will Smith and real-life son Jaden Smith, watch it, guaranteed your eyes will leave a tear if not tears of joy. I can say that the idea is hit as most viewers can relate to this especially on Real Steel movies because the stubborn attitude of the father reflects on his son until they started to work out as a team, you know what I am talking about if you already watched the movie so I suggest that you watch it now. Isn’t it great that you will see scenes like father telling experiences in life that when it combines with his son’s intelligence in new stuff or things and they started to accept each others opinion and live to that will come up with a strong bond? I learned hard lessons from my father and I wanted to share mine to my kids someday. That’s it for me and I hope I didn’t spoil the movie and I am confident that I did not haha.How about you? What’s your story?

See movie info below courtesy of http://www.rottentomatoes.com:

A gritty, white-knuckle, action ride set in the near-future where the sport of boxing has gone high-tech, Real Steel stars Hugh Jackman as Charlie Kenton, a washed-up fighter who lost his chance at a title when 2000-pound, 8-foot-tall steel robots took over the ring. Now nothing but a small-time promoter, Charlie earns just enough money piecing together low-end bots from scrap metal to get from one underground boxing venue to the next. When Charlie hits rock bottom, he reluctantly teams up with his estranged son Max (Dakota Goyo) to build and train a championship contender. As the stakes in the brutal, no-holds-barred arena are raise, Charlie and Max, against all odds, get one last shot at a comeback. — (C) Dreamworks

About Kalongkong Hiker

I am Paolo Mercado for 20 years I've been riding a bike, walking a lot and running a lot. I am Kalongkong Hiker, a trail runner, mountaineer and a biker that can also write a blog of my travels, adventures and places that I visited through walking, running and biking. I write to encourage others to stay healthy and fit. #KeepOnRunning #ShareTheRoad #KalongkongHiker
Gallery | This entry was posted in Family, Movie | Films | TV Series, Running Bloggers, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Real Steel | A Whole New Way to Enjoy Robots & Boxing

  1. Real Steel is a great movie! I watched it online on watchrealsteelonline.co.cc and loved it! If you like boxing, its for u!

    Like

  2. Real Steel is a great movie, I watched it HQ and free on watchrealsteelonline.co.cc , loved it!! I dont want to say more because i dont want to spoil the movie, between its not wolverine in this movie! lol

    Like

  3. CMrok93 says:

    Real Steel is a blast, an unabashed crowd-pleaser that mixes Rocky, Transformers, video games and father-son bonding to great, if corny, effect. Still didn’t need to be 127 minutes though. Nice review. Check out mine when you can.

    Like

    • silentpal says:

      Yeah that’s right CMrok93 it was visioned to be the future and that is possible if not at least it is reality. Thanks for visiting and I am sure I’ll check out yours from now on.

      Like

Let us know what you think. Leave a comment.

